Connect with us


ECP suspends lawmakers elected on reserved seats denied to SIC



Following the ruling by the Supreme Court on the petition for reserved seats filed by the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC), the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) suspended 77 legislators who were elected to seats that the party was not granted on Monday.
The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), and other ruling parties had been at odds over the issue of reserved seats. The SIC is mainly made up of independent candidates backed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf.
Following the PHC’s ruling, dozens of members of the PPP, PML-N, MQM-P, JUI-F, and other parties swore in on reserved seats in various assemblies around the nation.
The largest loss is the ruling PML-N, which has had 44 of its legislators suspended together with 15 lawmakers from the PPP and 13 from Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam Fazl (JUI-F).

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *