Connect with us


Ruling alliance sweeps Senate polls —PPP grabs 11, PML-N six seats



With 11 senators, the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leads the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), which secured six seats.
One seat was won by the Muttahida Qaudmi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P) and one by independent candidate Faisal Vawda.
In the National, Punjab, and Sindh assemblies, voting for the 19 open seats took place, but the Election Commission postponed polls for 11 seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa due to the “denial” of oath-taking to MPs elected to reserved seats.
In all, 356 parliamentarians voted in the elections for the upper house of parliament; five NA lawmakers’ votes were disqualified.
The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), which is now in power in Sindh, has so far been able to secure 10 Senate seats from the region.



Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *